Salehurst and Robertsbridge Parish Council


Salehurst & Robertsbridge is one of the larger parishes in East Sussex and lies mid-way between Tunbridge Wells to the north and Hastings to the south on the main London to Hastings road, the A21.


The parish is entirely contained within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.


More information about the history and organisation of the parish can be found at About the Parish.

Latest News


Safe & Well Visits



East Sussex Fire & Rescue Service is working with Action in Rural Sussex and Rother Voluntary Action, offering home visits to advise on fire safety and wellbeing (eg. health issues and social isolation).


See full article


Dog matters in Salehurst & Robertsbridge
12th April 2016


There are three different Dog Control Orders that apply to us in Salehurst & Robertsbridge. The first is on 'Dog Fouling', requiring dog faeces to be cleared up, and applies to all places in the parish that are used by the public; the second is the requirement to keep 'dogs on a lead' and the third is 'Dog Exclusion', whereby dogs are banned completely from certain places.



The only place in the parish that dogs are specifically required to be on a lead is in the Recreation Ground; the only place they are banned completely is the enclosed play area in the Recreation Ground (in fact all enclosed playgrounds in Rother).


In many areas, dogs are completely excluded from entire recreation and/or sports grounds, but the Parish Council chose not to include our Recreation Ground in this Order, preferring the less restrictive (but harder to enforce) order to keep dogs on a lead. This was not an anti dog decision, it was a pro dog decision.


There were many calls for a total ban, for two main reasons. The first was to prevent nuisance to other users, children and adults, who should be free to enjoy the facilities without dogs running about - we frequently had football matches disrupted by over enthusiastic dogs, but of greater concern, numerous incidents of children being chased by dogs whilst playing, not necessarily unfriendly ones, but not all children like dogs, particularly ones they don't know.


The second was to deal with the persistent problem of dog mess, as we all know that a small minority of dog owners are not considerate or responsible and refuse to clear up after their dog (whether on a lead or not, but we have many witnessed examples of very responsible dog walkers who have 'missed' the event because their dog has run ahead, or lagged behind). The only way to ensure no dog mess is to ban dogs completely.


But the Council did not want to do this. It was mindful of the fact that many people, including families with children, like to take their dog with them on a trip to the Rec. Also, dog walkers can provide a valuable, frequent adult presence, helping to keep our children safe. So the decision was made that requiring dogs to be on a lead was an appropriate compromise for an area provided for play and sport.

None of our other public spaces are included in the Order and, in addition to those areas we have a very good network of public footpaths where dogs can be walked.


So please understand and respect that the Recreation Ground is provided for recreational activities for all two legged residents, but not for dogs - although they are welcome to accompany their humans if kept on a lead at all times (and cleaned up after if necessary).



Your chance to comment on the proposed new electoral arrangements
March 2016


The Local Government Boundary Commission is holding a consultation (until 16th June) on proposed new council wards and divisions across East Sussex.


See full article